Strengthened torque tube - pics

Engine related articles specific to induction (carby, EFI etc.)
User avatar
OTD 079
Regular
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 4:25 pm
Location: Brisbane

Strengthened torque tube - pics

Post by OTD 079 »

I just got my torque tube back from my mate.

He has modified the shaft so that it is much larger diameter to stop it twisting up like a rubber band when you have a bit more power than stock (I have an sr20det in my wagon).

My old torque tube caused a massive vibration at 105 - 115 km/h, so it was a real pain driving at the speed limit on the M1. It is all fixed now.

Image Image Image

As you can see from the pic, the shaft is a much larger diameter now, there is also a 5mm plate welded to the mounting bracket to limit the upwards movement of the rubber mount, plus there is a brand new rubber mount installed which I got from holden a little while ago...

Matthew

Edit - Pics fixed
Last edited by OTD 079 on Mon Apr 10, 2006 8:26 am, edited 1 time in total.
Gene FJ20DEBT
Supreme Overlord
Posts: 9058
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Brisnyland, QLD AKA: NISMOgemini
Contact:

Post by Gene FJ20DEBT »

look s nice.. i think im gonna go this path soon..

(iv moved/copyed this to work shop also:))
"No thank you, Turkish; I'm sweet enough."

Image
User avatar
OTD 079
Regular
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 4:25 pm
Location: Brisbane

Post by OTD 079 »

For those who are interested, I spoke to my mate and he said he doesn't mind making some more.

He does them on an exchange basis, but could supply the torque tube outright for a little more.

He can NOT supply new torque tube rubber. However, if you can track one down, he can fit it.

Approximate cost for strengthened torque tube and modified fixing bracket is $200 exchange. Or approx $220 outright.

There will be around a 2 week turnaround.

Let me know if you want one.

Matthew
Buckna
Long Term Member
Posts: 1391
Joined: Mon May 16, 2005 9:38 pm
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Contact:

Post by Buckna »

Hey matt.

just wondering how much did you pay for the rubber from Holden?
matthew wrote:plus there is a brand new rubber mount installed which I got from holden a little while ago...
Image
gene wrote:Lok for mod………………… HAHAHAAHAHA not realy???? LOL. When hell freezes over and cocks fall from the heavens
Gene FJ20DEBT
Supreme Overlord
Posts: 9058
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Brisnyland, QLD AKA: NISMOgemini
Contact:

Post by Gene FJ20DEBT »

mate of mine got one from holden a while back, cost hims somethign like $250
"No thank you, Turkish; I'm sweet enough."

Image
User avatar
OTD 079
Regular
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 4:25 pm
Location: Brisbane

Post by OTD 079 »

My rubber cost around $130 from Holden at Springwood. Probably about 12mths ago. I think the guy said there was only a couple left there.

They are at limited supply and I have found depending on who you talk to at the spare parts place, they may or may not be available.

A lot of parts with limited qty's are only kept at the Melbourne store, and some of the staff don't always check the availability right across Australia.

So if you get told they are not available any more, try calling back another time and getosomeone different and you might find that you can get them. That's what happened to me.

Has anyone checked with Rare Spares?? They might have them??

Matthew
Gene FJ20DEBT
Supreme Overlord
Posts: 9058
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Brisnyland, QLD AKA: NISMOgemini
Contact:

Post by Gene FJ20DEBT »

i sent u a PM matthew about getting one.. :) i will deffinatly take one
"No thank you, Turkish; I'm sweet enough."

Image
User avatar
tufwgn
Regular
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2005 11:26 pm
Location: melbourne

Post by tufwgn »

$180 from kevin dennis sunshine, but my question is how the f!@# do you that the old one off
User avatar
OTD 079
Regular
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 4:25 pm
Location: Brisbane

Post by OTD 079 »

I did not do mine, but I would think you would maybe use a press to get the old mount off the housing??

Matthew
Gene FJ20DEBT
Supreme Overlord
Posts: 9058
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Brisnyland, QLD AKA: NISMOgemini
Contact:

Post by Gene FJ20DEBT »

tufwgn wrote:$180 from kevin dennis sunshine, but my question is how the f!@# do you that the old one off
$180 for the rubber? or 180 for them to make a stronger tube?? i would be interested in a ruber or 4 if that what your talkin about?
"No thank you, Turkish; I'm sweet enough."

Image
User avatar
candyredtd
Regular
Posts: 284
Joined: Sun Jul 17, 2005 9:02 am
Location: Sydney Town

Post by candyredtd »

Gene FJ20DET wrote: $180 for the rubber? or 180 for them to make a stronger tube?? i would be interested in a ruber or 4 if that what your talkin about?

You after the rubber Gene? I just got one from Holden for $125 new.
Gene FJ20DEBT
Supreme Overlord
Posts: 9058
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Brisnyland, QLD AKA: NISMOgemini
Contact:

Post by Gene FJ20DEBT »

yeah im after 2-3 of them
"No thank you, Turkish; I'm sweet enough."

Image
gemgone
n00b
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2005 6:52 pm

Post by gemgone »

Nice alternative for those on a budget, compared to the full hilux conversion with rear discs.
Gemini too hot to handle so it's gone!!
User avatar
yellowgem
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 5:10 pm
Location: brisbane, southside

Post by yellowgem »

PM sent matthew. Cheers, tom
Blue_TD
n00b
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 4:28 pm
Location: Adelaide

Post by Blue_TD »

i will try and get some pics of a v8 commodore torque tube rubber that a friend uses on his gemini race car. there was a little bit of cutting and shunting but it heaps bigger and stronger than the original
Post Reply