Strengthened torque tube - pics

Engine related articles specific to induction (carby, EFI etc.)
User avatar
yellowgem
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 5:10 pm
Location: brisbane, southside

Post by yellowgem »

just bought the rubber that connects the crossmember to the torque tube from holden at mt gravatt for $140...so the best bet is call up your closest holden dealership and ask them for one :D
wld_26
New Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 9:52 pm
Location: gladstone QLD

removing rubber

Post by wld_26 »

u just cut the old torque tube rubber off piece of cake n just hit the new 1 on with a piece of wood n a hammer if u dont have a press that is. done 1 last wkd. let us no how that torque tube goes could be keen after the 2.6 goes in
User avatar
Siddy1200
Regular
Posts: 374
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2005 7:27 pm
Location: Sydney
Contact:

Post by Siddy1200 »

sorry for being ignorant, but how are u supposed to do this?

MIG weld stips of steel to the tube, then grind and polish?
Shouldnt it be perfectly weighted?

Thanks,
Si.
Gene FJ20DEBT
Supreme Overlord
Posts: 9058
Joined: Sat May 14, 2005 10:32 pm
Location: Brisnyland, QLD AKA: NISMOgemini
Contact:

Post by Gene FJ20DEBT »

Siddy1200 wrote:sorry for being ignorant, but how are u supposed to do this?

MIG weld stips of steel to the tube, then grind and polish?
Shouldnt it be perfectly weighted?

Thanks,
Si.
cromolly tube sleve over the existing tube as far as i know
"No thank you, Turkish; I'm sweet enough."

Image
SHEEL
Moderator
Posts: 768
Joined: Wed May 25, 2005 10:46 am
Location: Melbourne

Post by SHEEL »

Image
Image

pics of my torque tube, as the other pics in this thread no longer work.

Mine is done in the same way.
Image
User avatar
OTD 079
Regular
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 4:25 pm
Location: Brisbane

Post by OTD 079 »

Hey Sheel,
Thanks for letting me know the pictures disappeared.
I have fixed the links up now so the pics should work.

Cheers,
Matthew
teditor
n00b
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 5:49 pm
Location: Queensland

Torque Tube mount

Post by teditor »

Not real familiar with this, just assisted my son to rebuild a TF Gem motor, double timing chain, 1600 out to 1800 (84mm), worked head, pacemaker extractors, 36 somthin or other Weber and a 4 speed manual, shudders somethibng fierce on takeoff, told its the Torque Tube mount and you can't get them new, have seen mention of them as being obtainable in these forums, anyone have a part number and a definite/ maybe where one might obtain one, I am in Toowoomba, Qld.

Teditor
Thirsty
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Brisbane...Northside

Post by Thirsty »

G'day. There is a company called Qld Rollers and Liners at Rocklea that remake the rubbers. Take the torque tube and the mount off the car to them and they will do it in a few days for about $140.00.
I have one in Rally Gem and it is just fine. Took me 18 months of rallying to wear the first one out. The newest one is bigger and looks stronger.
Try them
Thirsty :) :wink:
runamukx83
n00b
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 3:30 pm
Location: logan

torque tube rubber

Post by runamukx83 »

hi guys im new here! my old mate had a 12a and he solved his torque tube rubber problem by simply filling the housing section where the rubber breaks with black sicka fex use 2 work a treat! :wink:
Buggzy
Long Term Member
Posts: 1401
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 5:58 pm
Location: Ballarat

Post by Buggzy »

Boostin for lyfe!
azza83
n00b
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: penrith

torque tube

Post by azza83 »

hey guys i need a bit of help here, just brought a tg gem, for a project but need this part fixed i have every where but no one seems to do it???? please can some one tell me im from penrith :?:
azza83
n00b
Posts: 15
Joined: Wed Jul 18, 2007 6:21 pm
Location: penrith

Re: Strengthened torque tube - pics

Post by azza83 »

hey mate bought my self a tg gem need some torque tube repairs i know what you mean by vibration, i have asked around but no one can do it... can you help me in the direction...????
TDgemoz
New Member
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2007 6:05 pm
Location: adelaide hills

Post by TDgemoz »

sorry for digging up old threads but i was wondering what the torque tube was made out of... like was it solid round bar?? or a bit of pipe welded over the top of the original torque tube?? and what is the outside diameter? because im interested in doin this

cheers dan
User avatar
OTD 079
Regular
Posts: 518
Joined: Thu May 19, 2005 4:25 pm
Location: Brisbane

Post by OTD 079 »

TDgemoz wrote:sorry for digging up old threads but i was wondering what the torque tube was made out of... like was it solid round bar?? or a bit of pipe welded over the top of the original torque tube?? and what is the outside diameter? because im interested in doin this

cheers dan
I believe it is a chromoly (sp?) pipe welded over the original torque tube.
I am not sure the diameter. Sorry.
I am not the guy that did the fabrication.

Regards,
Matthew
Thirsty
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2005 8:07 am
Location: Brisbane...Northside

Description

Post by Thirsty »

AAAARRRRGGGGHHHHHH.
I can't stand it any longer.
A torque tube is the TUBE inside which the DRIVESHAFT/TAILSHAFT rotates.
There are three separate different threads of discussion going on here.
1. The rubber mount at the front of the TORQUE TUBE. Couple of different ones depending on model and/or petrol/diesel. Rebuildable!
2. The strengthened DRIVE SHAFT. Machining and welding. Others have described the steps for this.
3. The TORQUE TUBE. Steel or alloy depending on model and/or petrol/diesel. The torque tube will not bounce/vibrate/rattle if you fix the rubber mount.
The drive shaft transfers the drive. The torque tube, the third link, is an integral part of the suspension on the Geminis.
If one builds a ladder type rear end you still have a drive shaft but not the torque tube.
Think before you post so the confusion does not reign supreme.
Thankyou...
Deep breath.
Thirsty\Ross
:wink:
Post Reply